h1

God’s provision in our service

December 22, 2010

Serving God

December 22, 2010

When God calls me to something, it is always beyond my natural skills or ability to achieve.  I have tried to push and produce in the flesh, but it comes up short and leaves me defeated and exhausted.  I now begin to see that when He calls, He provides His power and His Spirit.  I must yield to His provision and not depend on my own, as if serving Him requires my self-sufficiency.

When He called Joshua He said, “I will be with you where ever you go.”  (Deut 31:23) Yes.  It is true.  Where He leads, He goes there with us.

When He calls me to speak, it is His Spirit that gives me utterance.  When He calls me to pray, it is His inspiration that gives me insight.  When He calls me to give, it is His provision that is given.  When He calls me to speak, it is His words that are shared.  When He calls me to write, it is His passion that moves my fingers on the keypad.

I am relieved by this recognition.  So many times I labored to fulfill His calling on my own.  I claimed the responsibility.  Yet, the only responsibility I have in relation to my service to Him… is choosing this day whom I will serve.  As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. (Joshua 24:15)

Leave a Reply

