h1

The Light

November 13, 2010

Kavin stares at lights. They attract him in a way nothing else does. He is mesmerized.

This week our family visited the Griffith Park Observatory. I too stare at the incredible lights and displays of God’s masterpieces in the sky. Then I gaze below at the city, seemingly twinkling with decorative displays of color.

This attraction to light reminds me of Scripture. In John Chapter One, Jesus is identified as the light that shines in the darkness. In Chapter Nine, Jesus refers to Himself as the light of the world while He was in the world. However, now that Jesus is in Heaven, Paul describes believers as lights of the world. Jesus Himself in Matthew nine says, “You are the light of the world.”

As I watch Kavin stare at the lit lamp in our living room, I wonder… what kind of light do I shine with my life? Is it dim? Bright? Am I reflecting the glory of the Lord or am I saying I follow, but allowing myself to be infiltrated by the darkness of the culture in which I live?

I want to SHINE and reflect Christ so that the world may know Him because of what He has done in me.

2 comments

  1. God bless you and your amazing insight.

    Love, Joni


  2. I don’t think you have to worry, Seana. Your light shines BRIGHT all the time. Everywhere you go and people you meet with light/love of Jesus in you. You are an amazing young women of God!!!!!

    Love you so much,

    Cecelia



Leave a Reply

