h1

The Christian’s Dreams and Desires

August 22, 2010

I have this mishmash of dichotomous ideals and desires.  I listen to a speaker that sold everything they own and took his family to live amongst the unengaged for Christ.  And in a moment, I really, deeply, am jealous for that life.  I too want to forsake it all and go live among a culture foreign to my own and allow Christ to some way live Himself through me and my family.

Then on the side of my computer screen an advertisement for a new home development starting in the “low 200s” pops up (obviously not in So Cal.) and I think, “You know, Lord.  If that is what You wanted for us, I would be okay with that.”  Ha ha.  Of course.  Who would not be okay with that?

You see?  Having a nice new home.  Not bad.  Giving up everything for the sake of the call?  Not bad.  It just all depends on what GOD has for us and not what we have for ourselves.

I know of some Christians that think to own nice things are a waste of stewardship.  Really?  I don’t agree.  Solomon had a PALACE and all the articles were pure gold (1 Kings 10:21)!  Job owned lots of property and animals (Job 42:12).  Then, again, Jesus said that the Son of Man didn’t have a place to lay His head (Luke 9:58).

I think, bottom line, that I want to be like Paul.  Content with little, content with much (Phil 4:10-13).  If God opens a door for us to “go and sell everything we own and give it to the poor and follow Him,” I hope I will be just as excited and content than having a home or anything else (Mark 10:21).  It is about being led by Christ and using all He gives me for His Kingdom and not for my own selfish gain.  It is being a wise steward to multiply what He has entrusted to us (Matthew 25:14-30).  If I have a home, then I better make sure I am using it for hospitality and worship!  If I have financial resources, how am I using them to make His name known?

I think it is cool to dream of giving it all up.  I think it is cool to dream of a nice new home … with plumbing that doesn’t break every other week- lol.  My desire, however, is that all my dreams are centered on Him and following Him wherever HE may lead.  For any dream outside of His will and presence is a nightmare.

5 comments

  1. And that is the hardest part.


  2. It is so refreshing to read your blogs. You always write on the things that I contemplate and sometimes through your writing, God reveals an answer to some of my questions. It must be the season of life we are in.


  3. I love that we are individually called and He uses us wherever we are in life. Some of us serve Him better going to meet the needs of refugees in Africa, and others do better in upscale neighborhoods, touching hearts that desperately need to be touched. His mercies are new every morning, wherever He places me. May I not waste even one of them.


  4. Very well said, Seana!!! i think we all have dreams about what WE want and hope that this is God’s will for our life. But in reality we must serve the Lord in whatever place, circumstance that He has us in.


  5. Stitchie – Real Life Story (2007)…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…



Leave a Reply

