h1

The Joy of Children

July 31, 2010

Yesterday I got a call from an old friend, a co-worker at a performing arts center I helped manage in college. He said, “I don’t know the details about Kavin, but I look forward to catching up.” Details. Whew! So many details.

How do I explain all we have been through the past four months? From exhilarated expectation… to a difficult, but peaceful labor… to cesarian surgery… to Kavin being whisked away, not being able to hold him for weeks… to “worst case scenarios”… to surrendering him to the Lord to take home if He chose… to his surgery… to his suffering through healing… to his breathing on his own… to his coming HOME!

There is no way to summarize the lessons, the joys, the pain, the peace, the hope, the goodness of the Lord. I have learned to not waste time asking “why?” But to praise Him for the grace He gave us, the strength to endure.

As I held Kavin yesterday, I imagined the Lord’s arm holding back what could have been, only allowing us to experience a portion of the pain, the sickness, the trial. Some may ask, “how could God allow you to go through that?” The same reason He allowed Jesus to be tempted… to prepare Him for the life ahead. The same reason He allowed Jesus to suffer… for the sake of righteousness. The same reason He allows all things to happen… so it can be seen that God causes all things to work for the good for those who love Him and are called according to His purpose.

Kavin brings me such incredible joy. He started laughing a deep belly laugh this week. Just out of the blue he will think something I say or do is hilarious. Oh! How I treasure his laughs!

The amazing thing is, I would go through it again and again. All the pain. All the waiting. All the petitioning. For I treasure so much more deeply the gift of his life than I think I would otherwise. I treasure so much more deeply the privilege of motherhood than I think I would otherwise.

Children, indeed are a joy… and a gift from the Lord!  Kavin is as healthy as I imagine any 4 month old too be. And this, too, is a blessing from the Lord.

One comment

  1. Wow…….. Thank you for the post. My wife and I took our two adopted sons to a county fair today. As they watched a juggler I was watching their faces and hearing their laughter. Our youngest is 4 (from Viet Nam) – our oldest is 11 (from China and home for five months) They are both boys and what joy they bring. This was another first for both of them and it was exciting to see their excitement



Leave a Reply

