h1

Kavin Update #8

May 2, 2010

UPDATE:

PRAISE THE LORD! Kavin continues to improve and I got to breastfeed him yesterday and he did well! His breathing is still fast and he needs healing for his reflex, which is much better. Surgeon said, “no reason for me to keep checking in- my work is done.” And one of the nurses said, “wow! Kavin is healing soooo fast! he is a miracle baby. Jesus is healing him.” THANKS FOR YOUR PRAYERS!!! God is moving! Keep praying!

REFLECTION:

I can’t believe Kavin is a month old!  The craziest month of our lives!  From the height of joy to giving birth, to the shock of possibly loosing Kavin to a birth defect… to the deepest and most desperate petitions before the Lord… to seeing Him work miracles in Kavin’s life- and in our hearts.  The last four weeks somewhat feels like four years.

The night before the surgery, the Lord led me to a verse:  Psalm 86:16- Turn to me, and be gracious to me; Oh grant Your strength to Your servant, And save the son of Your handmaid.

Although Kavin is not yet coming home, my heart is full, for I see the Lord’s faithfulness in saving the son of His handmaid.

Jason and I have learned soooo much about eachother.  We have become more of a team through this trial and have learned what each other needs in a deeper way not possible in the day to day events of life.  We also have a greater understanding of God’s sovergnty.  everything is in HIS hands… not our own.  What ever He brings our way is what He allows for His purpose.  None the less, it is not His perfect creation that allows for sickness and disease, but the affects of sin in our world.  My mom showed me a couple verses in Isaiah before the surgery, which comes to mind often as I walk through the NICU.  I think “this is not the way it is suppose to be.  This is not the way it is suppose to be.”

Isaiah 65:20&23  “No longer will there be an infant who lives but a few days, or an old man who does not live out his days… They will not labor in vain, Or bear children for calamity; For they are the offspring of those blessed by the Lord.”

We are still weary, but hopeful.  For we see the light at the end of the tunnel… the oasis on the horizon of the trial of the wilderness.  Yet there are other families in the NICU, who are just like us, who have yet to see the light of hope for their children… the oasis is not yet on their horizon.  And although I am filled with joy for Kavin, I can’t help but long and desire for every child to be redeemed and saved.  And yet I know… some will pass before they have any real chance to live.

In my mind’s eye I hear from critics, “How can a loving God allow such suffering?”  This question is one I have asked myself in moments of fear and pain.  And then, the Spirit speaks to me:

“The same reason God gave His Son to suffer on your behalf… to bring life and transformation.”

Then the Lord brings to remembrance the “greats” in His Word.  They were transformed through the suffering God allowed in their lives- so they could see Him for who He is, the very source of life itself.

Moses waundered in the wilderness

Joseph sold into slavery

Job lost everything and suffered severe physical attack

Paul imprisoned and beaten

Abraham offered his son Isaac

David fled for his life from Saul

Jacob served as an indentured servant for 14 years

and the list goes on and on…

So, in the scheme of life, in the everlasting of eternity, suffering has its purpose.  Yet it is our choice: We can turn to the Lord and embrace Him in the storm and live… or we can go at it alone and be consumed.

I would be a liar to say I have not depended on my own understanding at times the last four weeks.  Yet as I began to sink, like Peter when he stepped out of the boat in faith to walk on water to Jesus, I cried out.  The Lord answered me and delivered me.  “The Lord is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear?  The Lord is the defense of my life; Whom shall I dread?”  He is faithful, even when I lack faith.

4 comments

  1. Truer words were never spoken. As I pondered this last month, something was laid upon my heart that I KNOW is true. Kavin has come into this world to accomplish things we, as mortals, cannot fathom nor understand. God has a plan and His plan, as always is perfect. We see through a glass, darkly. All he asks is that we reach out and take his hand for us to feel the warmth and see the light.


  2. Dear Scott Family:

    My heart pounce fast my eyes get full of tears to see how great is our God. my big guy Kavin has bring armies together in this fight! I called and you answered Oh Lord thank you because all of us has been praying for the Scott’s,we are rejoicing because we know that the Lord will complete what he has started!!! I love you guys.


  3. Praise the Lord Seana! So happy to hear you have been able to breast Kavin with success. My prayers
    are with you and for continued healing of your precious angel.


  4. I am so glad to hear that Kavin is doing so much better.

    What you said about the other babies & families in the NICU brought something to mind though.

    We know everything happens for a reason. Maybe part of God’s purpose in this is so that the families of the other babies can see the Lord working in your lives & be brought closer to Him.



Leave a Reply

