h1

Christmas Reflection

January 4, 2010

This year the Christmas story hit my heart in an unexpected way.  I reflect on Mary, a young girl devoted to the Lord, now caught in a scandal around her pregnancy outside of marriage.  I imagine the whispers;  the judgements;  the casting eyes as she grows larger and larger.

The questions I myself encounter along this journey Mary may ask too.  “How am I to be a mother?  Why did God chose me for this precious life of His?  How will I raise a son?”

Although the questions barrage me every day, this Christmas Mary taught me the simple joy of saying, “behold, the bondslave of the Lord; may it be done to me according to your word.” (Luke 1:38)

I desire to trust the Lord the way the mother of our Lord exemplifies.  She submitted herself to His plan, although many questions loomed.  I wonder if she too asked, “how will we provide for this child?  What will labor be like?  I am not sure I can handle the pain.  Where will my child be born?  Will it be safe?  Will Joseph’s love for me change because of the child?  Will I be lonely? How do I take care of an infant?”

Her faithfulness in submission brings  her life into 3-D view 2,000 years later.  If a humble, poor woman, at the age of about 13, trusted the Lord and found Him to be faithful to show her the way of provision, protection, and guidance as she and Joseph raised the Lord of the Universe in the flesh; surely I too can trust the Lord to walk with Jason and I down the road of uncertainties as we raise a son in hopes of him fulfilling God’s plan for His life.

God chose to use the least of all… a baby born in a barn with animals and everything that entails… to be King of kings (Rev. 19:16).  God chose the poor to care for and raise the One from whom all things were made (John 1:3).  God chose to raise the Savior of the World (1 John 4:14) in a lowly place called Nazareth (“Can anything good come from Nazareth?”- John 1:46).

Since the Lord chose the least of the world to bring in His glory through raising of a child, I pray as we submit to His leading, the Lord will use us to raise a voice for Him as well.

Father God, thank You for choosing the least of this world to shame the wise; the foolish things of the world, the lowly, to do Your great work of redemption.  I know all of your creation is close to Your heart, including me and the child You are knitting in my womb.  Please help me to surrender to you like Mary.  Please use us to train up this child in the way it should go.  Please guide Jason as he leads our family and fathers your baby.  My plans are undone.  The way is uncertain and overwhelming.  So, lead me in the wilderness by faith.  Let me not sink in the waves of fear, but fix my eyes on you, the Author and Perfector of our faith.  In Jesus’ name I pray, AMEN.

Leave a Reply

