h1

The Lord Delivers

December 13, 2009

I woke up today needing a word of encouragement from the Lord for this journey ahead. A good friend pointed out the other day, “remember when you were broken and using drugs? You did not know how the Lord would deliver you, but you knew He was the only answer. He delivered you! Now, also, as you walk in this season of mystery, He will lead you and deliver you from your fears again.”

This reminds me of the Israelites in the wilderness. Forty years they wandered, trusting in God’s deliverance and at times, rejecting Him (golden calf anyone?). Spiritually and emotionally, this pregnancy and expectation of motherhood are comparable to their journey. The Lord has delivered me from the captivity of sin and despair (Psalm 40, ). He has promised to guide me in His path (Proverbs 3:5-6). He is preparing me for a new season, a new land flowing with the goodness motherhood brings. Yet, unfortunately, I sometimes grumble and question if He is leading the right way. I sometimes wonder if the “pillar by night and cloud by day” have the wrong GPS signal. Yet I am the misinformed one. I am the one that depends on my understanding and not God’s wisdom.  I am the one that forgets His mercies… and then I truly am in despair.

How thankful I am to Jesus’ compassion and mercies!  How extravagant is His love that He lay down His life for us (John 10:14-15).  And just like His love for His chosen people, we have been chosen out of the world to receive His salvation!  Thank You, dear Lord.  Please help me to walk with you and not according to the patterns of this world (Rom. 12:1-2).  Help me to find rest for my soul (Ps. 62:1).  AMEN.

2 comments

  1. So appreciative for this blog! How easily we can forget ALL that He has brought us through! Thank you for your postings! They are so beautiful! 🙂 praying for all 3 of you tonight!


  2. Your heartfelt reflections are so inspiring! Thank you for taking the time to share these and encourage us along the way! Can’t wait to read more!
    ~Sarah (MHS alumni)



Leave a Reply

