h1

Seeing the miracle!

December 12, 2009

I struggled throughout the day yesterday. A long list of “to dos” at work jabbed words of demand, “I need to get done!” By the afternoon, I just sat in the cubicle and cried. How am I ever going to succeed in working at home, taking care of the baby, and managing the household? It is to much, Lord. It is too much.

After dinner last night I took out the laptop and wrote list upon list and schedule upon schedule to tame the wild beast of anxiety. By the time I went to bed at midnight, my to dos found no place in my dreams. Then… I woke up this morning!

As I turned to the Book of Matthew for a few words of wisdom before heading out the door, I read a familiar verse that brought a refreshing peace.

Matthew 11:28-30
Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden in light.

It is simple and yet complex. I allow the yoke of my circumstances and fears to weigh me down with a load not easy to bear, crushing my spirit every step I try to take. How, oh Lord, do I yoke myself to you? I desire to rest and learn from you, yet life still increases its demands.

The Spirit answers in His still small voice. You let go. You let go of control and give me complete trust. You let go of your understanding and let me direct your path. You let go of your pride of accomplishment and allow me to accomplish My will in your life. How do you yoke yourself to me? You let go of you and hold onto me.

Then I headed out the door to a sonogram appointment. WOW! The further along I get in the pregnancy, the more spectacular it becomes. I saw our little man playing with his arms, moving his head, and even witnessed a series of hiccups (and felt them too)! The miracle I watched shed aside all fears and doubts. For a few moments I glimpsed God’s work, His masterpiece. So, I still don’t know how it will all pan out, how hard it will be or if I will be able to handle the job on top of all my other jobs in life, but my heart knows in this moment, yoked to Christ, it will be fantastic!

So, my dear friend in Christ, let us both learn to LET GO of the mirage of control and walk through with Jesus. We still face the fields of fear and the work still needs to be accomplished, but no longer is it up to us. We walk in His peace.

One comment

  1. It is wonderful to be able to come to me for our strength and inspriation. Just like Philippians 4:4-7 tells us to rejoice and not to be anxious, but instead to be thankful and bring our requests to God.

    FaithfulThoughtSpot – a place for devotion



Leave a Reply

