h1

The Lord Knows

December 6, 2009

Psalm 139:1-6

O Lord, You have searched me and known me.

You know when I sit down and when I rise up;

You understand my thought from afar.

You scrutinize my path and my lying down,

And are intimately acquainted with all my ways.

Even before there is a word on my tongue,

Behold, O Lord, You know it all.

You have enclosed me behind and before,

And you laid Your hand upon me.

Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;

It is too high, I cannot attain to it.

This passage of scripture reminds me of the intimacy God has with His creation.  There is no joy or fear that is absent from His sight.  There is no question or concern that He is limited to understand even before we bring it to His attention. He sees everything we do, not just to keep an account, but to know me… to know you.

During this pregnancy, faith has a whole new dimension to me.  Lots of different thoughts, both joyous like thinking of holding the little one in my arms, and fearful- “Am I doing everything to ensure his health?” Not only do I need to trust the Lord with myself, my husband, and everything else orbiting our lives, but all of a sudden there is a human being growing inside of me!  And no matter how many prenatal vitamins I take, or walks I go on, I have to trust my baby boy to the Lord.  I have to have faith that His hand is on my life, like the Psalmist teaches us… and on the life in my womb.

What sweetness it is to abide in the comfort of His complete knowledge of us!  What sweetness to learn that we are enclosed by His love, blanketed behind and before.  There is nothing hidden from His sight, so we are safe in His hand.

Praise You, O Lord!  Keep me in Your sight.  Keep me in Your hand!  Keep me in Your care!  I need You as I walk through this season of pregnancy and prepare for motherhood.  I need You.

Leave a Reply

