h1

Fruit of the Spirit

December 6, 2009

Galatians 5:22-25

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.  Now those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.  If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit.

For the past 9 weeks my church studied the fruits of the Spirit.  Last night as I listened to the final sermon of the series, I could almost see the cartoon light bulb appear over my head.  “That’s it!”

God blessed me with a sensitive heart.  I say it is a blessing because with this heart I am able to feel and care in ways otherwise not possible.  However, my greatest strengths sometimes are my greatest weaknesses.

Just a couple weeks ago I sat on the living room couch, where I am writing this now, and wrote out my list of “things to do before baby comes.”  One of them needed to have a particular date and time and I needed Jason’s involvement, so I asked him, “How about Sunday, February 7 from 2-6?”  Silence from the kitchen.  Was he mad?  Did he hear me?  Are Sundays too stressful for him after serving at the church all weekend?

“Or we could do Saturday before you go to work?”  Silence again… and then a response.

“Let me just think about it for a little bit, okay?” He replied.

Less than a moment later a flood of tearful rejection poured through my eyes.  “I am just trying my best!” I thought to myself.  “All I needed was a simple answer!”  I got up from the couch and double-timed it to our bathroom.  I grabbed the roll of toilet paper and just bawled and bawled.  The crying session lasted for three hours!  Jason lovingly tried to give me comfort, but I could not be consoled.  From the outside someone would have thought catastrophe or tragedy.  Nope.  Just impatience.

When I confide in friends about my emotional escapades they say, “don’t worry.  It’s the hormones.”  Yet as I sat in church this weekend, the light of God’s Word illuminated the truth.  Hormones or not, the impatience, selfishness, sadness, anxiety, and lack of kindness or goodness are something the Spirit of God in me can overcome.  Is the Spirit powerful enough to sustain Jesus Christ our Lord through the temptation in the wilderness, but not the temptations of my heart during pregnancy?  I think not!

What did Jesus use to combat the attacks of the enemy?  The sword of the Spirit, which is the Word of God! (Matt. 4 & Eph. 6)  I am encouraged to know that although my emotional escapades are a by-product of my humanness and even some of my strengths, the Spirit of God can transform my heart to live out all the promises of a life controlled by His power… yet it still feels good to have a deep cry every once in a while. 🙂

Leave a Reply

