h1

The News

November 28, 2009

Sharing the news about the pregnancy with Jason, my husband, stirred my heart.  After two positive pregnancy tests, it would still take hours for me to be home.  I waited patiently (something not in my nature, even as a Christian) and stopped by the local drugstore on the way home for a gift bag and tissue paper.

“Honey, I’m home and I have a gift for you!” I spoke loudly as I entered our 1950s fixer in the San Fernando Valley in Southern California.

“You have a gift for me?” Jason asked with excitement, but also hesitation.  He likes to save money.  I like to spend it.

“Yes.  Just a little something small.” I said as I sat down on the couch next to him.  He took out the black tissue paper and saw what first appeared as a thermometer.  Perplexed, he stuck his hand into the bag and grabbed the plastic digital tool and pulled it out for further investigation.  His curiosity switched to shock as he read, “pregnant.”

“Pregnant?  Are you pregnant?” He asked for confirmation.

“Yes!”

Jason grabbed me and we hugged and kissed over and over with joy.  It is still hard to believe, even with the extra 10 inches in my waste, that God is knitting together one of His children inside me.  What an amazing journey!

Leave a Reply

